For the love of the game

Source: http://contents.spin.ph/image/resize/image/2020/03/13/empty-filoil-flying-v-centre-san-juan-knights-mpbl-1584085606.webp

It all started in the summer of 2012 after I finished 4th grade when my PE teacher recruited me to join our school’s elementary girls’ volleyball team that he made just for the hell of it. Told you, I was not the typical athletic girl because of my short stance, but my flexibility and activity let me keep up with the other young girls in my class and at school when we were training. 

But who would have thought that this spontaneous summertime activity would take us down a different journey?

I didn’t take my first year as a student-athlete in the fifth grade very seriously. We simply cared about eating the Crispy Chicken Fillet with our athlete allowance after the game because we treated every other game just for fun. The following year, however, when our school placed second in our municipality’s district meet and I, along with my fellow teammates, was selected to play at the provincial meet, we began to take the game seriously. Our provincial team managed to get into the “Magic 8” out of 13 municipalities until we were eliminated. This was when I realized how crucial the game is–how it gives opportunities to the dreamers, breaks someone’s heart and dreams, and connects people with the same passion. In relation to this, I will be forever proud of who was once my childhood close friend who got chosen to play for a famous university’s champion high school team (Years later, she is still a champion).

As high school came, I kept playing on the team. Even though I was not planning on a future in athletics since I was more interested in academics, it did not lessen my hunger for victory and thirst for the team’s success. I always make sure that my teammates and co-athletes notice my support during hustling plays, and God, I hope that they know how much I want them to succeed in their sports careers. I would be very proud and happy to see them play someday in huge stadiums and giant domes with large cheering crowds.

The game’s highs and lows have opened my eyes as someone who was then an 11-year-old child. I recognized the obsession with results and the brick-by-brick grind. I sense the hustle despite the hassle. I saw the loyalty and commitment of their team and coaches. I acknowledge the emotions whenever they win or lose. I can now see why all of the bumps, scratches, tears, and sweat were worthwhile.

All of these were for the love of the game, with the hope that everyone would reach their path towards the hall of fame.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started